“Ten for Ward” #9 at StarTrek.com: Ten Star Trek Novels for the New Star Trek Novel Reader

It’s been a while since I last polluted the aether over at StarTrek.com, but the good people there have decided the time was right to let me have the run of the place for a bit. With that in mind, they gave me license to offer up yet another installment of my irregularly recurring blog series for them, “Ten for Ward.”

For those who haven’t yet sampled the so-called “column,” I’m periodically invited to provide a list of ten favorite (and hopefully interesting) Trek-related whatevers based on…well…whatever I can think up whenever my editor asks me for a new column.

For this latest entry, I solicited the help of regular readers of this here blog-thing, asking them to offer suggestions as to what Star Trek novel might make a good entry point for the Trek fan who hadn’t yet seen fit to sample the books. I received several good suggestions, and mixed in a few of my own to round out the list I eventually wrote for the article.

The result? That would be this right here:

Ten for Ward #9 – Ten Star Trek Novels for the New Star Trek Novel Reader

If we didn’t mention a title you think makes for a fine introduction to Star Trek novels for the first-time reader, feel free to offer it and your reasons in the comments section at the bottom of the article. The more, the merrier!

Thanks to everyone who took the time to offer up suggestions, and thanks as always to my editor and other good people at StarTrek.com who let me play in their sandbox every so often. You can check out all of the “Ten for Ward” columns just clicking on this rather swank-looking logo-type thing:

So, who’s got more to add to the list?

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in guest blogging, nerdity, startrek.com, ten for ward, trek. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Ten for Ward” #9 at StarTrek.com: Ten Star Trek Novels for the New Star Trek Novel Reader

  1. archersangel says:

    i’ve read most of those.

    Like

  2. Ian McLean says:

    I totally agree with all of those choices by Dayton, and my only quibble with the readers’ suggestions would be “Enterprise: The First Adventure”, simply because Vonda McIntyre’s “The Entropy Effect” (a real page-turner) and novelizations for ST II and III are vastly superior.

    My other must-read for new readers would be “Strangers from the Sky” by Margaret Wander Bonanno. It is really epic in its scope, but touches base with TOS in so many ways.

    Like

Lay it on me.

