“Ask Dayton” – A lightning round (sorta).

So, once again the stats for my blog reveal that I’ve been receiving a bunch of new followers, subscribers, curious onlookers, and so on. Facebook and Twitter also have had some recent upticks in new friends. A few recent blog entries have garnered a bit of attention beyond my normal casualty radius, too.

To those of you who’ve ventured here and elected to add me to your daily allowance of internet distractions, please accept my official “Aloha.” Welcome to my online man cave. Please take a moment to post a comment and let me know what brings you to this dark, damp corner of the intrawebz.

It’s been a long while since I last did this, mostly because of that whole “Ask Dayton” feature I provide most Sundays for the G&T Show. Still, every once in a while I like to throw the doors open and so I post an entry like this one. As with those earlier occasions, I do something like this when I’m between larger writing projects, or I’m stalling for time before plunging into the next said project. Or, maybe I’m procrastinating with respect to cleaning the cat’s litter box.

Nah. The “I’m about to start a new writing project” one sounds better.

So, here’s how it goes, be you new arrival or old salty veteran: Ask me anything, if you’re so inclined, and I’ll do my best to provide a brief yet thoughtful answer (hence the “lightning round” bit). If I can’t conjure up such a reply, you’ll instead receive a wise-assed retort customized just for you! Asker’s choice, so far as the topic goes, though I reserve the right not to answer anything I deem too personal or inappropriate for this particular venue. Despite this guideline, I’ve never actually had to play that card, but I figure laying out the parameters for our discussion can’t hurt.

(Note, this isn’t an attempt to drum up “Ask Dayton” fodder for the G&T Show, though I’d be surprised if I didn’t see at least one question which sounds as though it might come from that realm.)

Anyway, who’s got a question?

horshack

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in ask dayton, friends, q&a. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “Ask Dayton” – A lightning round (sorta).

  1. Shawn Tibbitts says:

    The Third World War books were some of favorites. But you spend most of the time in the ST genere. Have you thought about more books along the lines of off ST and another independent novel like the Third World War?

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      Sure, I’ve thought about it, and I’ve written the odd short story and other things here and there, in and around the Trek stuff. I’ve got a couple of ideas percolating, but my editors at Pocket are keeping me busy for the moment 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi Dayton, I can’t understand the backlash against JJ Abrams’ treatment of Trek. He brought back its mojo in the first film, making it one of the most popular in the franchise. And I don’t buy the argument that Into The Darkness is the worst Trek film (that distinction I believe belongs to ST V).
    What’s your take on the Abrams haters?
    Thanks for writing and hearing me out.

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      I enjoyed the 2009 film, despite its flaws, and thought it was a lot of fun and injected some much needed energy into the franchise. I was disappointed with Into Darkness, because while I thought it certainly had its entertaining moments, I also feel it squandered what I saw as an unprecedented opportunity to do something completely new and different while still retaining most of what we know and love from the original incarnations of Kirk and the gang.

      Including Khan, and not even really using him so much as shoe-horning him into a storyline which already had a decent villain in Admiral Marcus, just seemed to be done for the sake of “Oh, let’s use Khan!” It just fell flat, and for every scene he’s in, I was rewriting the story in my head to work without him.

      But, that’s just me.

      As for what one segment of fans thinks compared to another, that way lies madness. Like what you like, and screw what other people think.

      Like

      • I also am not impressed with the Khan insertion. I would’ve liked a lot more exposition of Adm. Marcus, especially a link from the IDW prequel comic. Khan in the film is just too busy and not nearly as interesting as Ricardo Montalban.
        I agree with your point that opportunities were squandered; that said, Into Darkness is still a good movie.
        It’s just not the best movie.

        Like

        • Dayton Ward says:

          I think they should’ve taken the storyline with April from the preview comic and worked that into the film, rather than Khan. April and Marcus, either working together or — better yet — at odds with each other, and Kirk and his crew caught in the middle.

          Just spitballing.

          One thing you can say about Into Darkness: It’s certainly not boring. If you can get past any Trek-related grievances, it’s an entertaining summer movie, and there’s nothing wrong with those.

          Like

  3. Wapati says:

    Dear Dayton;

    Does this smell infected to you?

    Like

Lay it on me.

