Rush in Kansas City!

Yep. The Holy Trio came to Cowtown, as they almost always do at some point during their various concert tours. Of course we went.

rush

Michi and I have been going to Rush concerts together since before we were married, and those of you who know us know we’ve been married a damned long time. Tonight my bud Kevin joined us as we hit the Sprint Center for this show, which of course was not to be missed. I’ll admit I gave momentary consideration to selling my tickets to a scalper for a tidy sum, but I immediately punched myself in the junk for even daring to entertain such an errant thought.

(Okay, I didn’t really punch myself in the junk, but I did have one of the voices in my head — Morgan Freeman’s, for those keeping score at home — rebuke me for my insolence.)

Anyway….

Almost forty years doing this together, and Rush still puts on a hell of a show. It was the last stop on their Clockwork Angels tour, and while there were some early indications that the guys might be ready to go home for a while (Geddy Lee’s voice sounded a little rough on the opening number, “Subdivisions”), everything got dialed in pretty quick and we were off and running.

Nearly three hours of music, including most of the tracks from their newest album, the aforementioned Clockwork Angels, along with plenty of perennial favorites and even a few that don’t normally get included in their concert set lists (“Grand Designs” and “The Analog Kid,” for example). Naturally, the place went bananas whenever something like “YYZ” or “The Spirit of Radio” cranked up, and their encore was “Tom Sawyer” and from 2112 “Overture, “Temples of Syrinx” and “Grand Finale” to close out the evening. No matter how many times I hear them, those last handful of songs are always fun to hear live and with a great audience.

Next year marks Rush’s 40th anniversary, and I’m hoping for a new tour much like they did in 2004 for their 30th. The kids are getting to the point where I think they’re ready for their first rock concert, and it has to be Rush before some boy band or else I will punch myself in the junk. For realz.

Okay, probably not…but Morgan Freeman’s voice almost certainly will admonish me harshly.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in concerts, music, rush. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rush in Kansas City!

  1. Scott says:

    Is REO Speedwagon still together? That one would be good too. Or even Foreigner, Boston, Molly Hatchet, or Kansas. I myself have only been to 1 rock concert, The Steve Miller Band, back in 1997.

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      As far as I know, all but the Steve Miller Band are still together — to one degree or another and with varying numbers of original members. I saw an ad for a forthcoming Molly Hatchet concert while at the Rush show, and I know Kansas is set to do a show here soon with Lynyrd Skynyrd.

      Like

Lay it on me.

