Happy Birthday, Mike Jahn!

Extending heartfelt birthday greetings to one of the writers who inspired me to get into the whole word-slinging game in the first place, journalist, award-winning novelist and non-fiction writer Mike Jahn!

Among his numerous writing credits are a handful of slim tomes that helped 8 to 10-year-old me relive adventures with one of my favorite TV heroes of the day, Steve Austin, aka The Six Million Dollar Man. Like James Blish did for Star Trek and Alan Dean Foster did for numerous movies during the 1970s and 80s, Jahn was able to capture the magic of the bionic man’s exploits and translate them to the printed page. I bought his novelization of “The Secret of Bigfoot” (titled The Secret of Bigfoot Pass for the book version) at a school book fair, and probably read it – conservatively estimating – eleventy bazillion times.

(Of course I still have my copies. Remember who you’re talking to, here.)

Thanks to the wonders of the internet, I’ve been able to “meet” Mr. Jahn in the virtual realm, as we’re both members of the International Association of Media Tie-in Writers, and our paths have since crossed on Facebook, so I’ve been able to reacquaint myself with several of the novels he wrote that weren’t tie-ins. But 8 to 10-year old me is still grateful to him for the fun I had all those years ago.

(Who am I kidding. I’ll probably read The Secret of Bigfoot Pass again tonight.)

Happy Birthday, Mr. Jahn, and thanks again!

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, nerdity, tributes. Bookmark the permalink.

Lay it on me.

