Ask Dayton #77 on the G&T Show: “Spoilers and the Spoilers Who Spoil Them.”

Hey, whaddaya know? It’s Sunday again. It’s like they bring one of those around every week or so. Weird, huh?

And it’s not officially a Sunday until Nick Minecci, Terry Lynn Shull and Mike Medeiros. bring us another episode of the Sunday G&T Show! As this was the last show before the big convention in Las Vegas week after next, the con and its associated gathering of friends was one of the show’s main topics. For those of you going to the con and who don’t yet know, Kevin and I are slated to be hanging at the show’s booth in the vendor area at various times throughout the weekend. Plans are afoot to have books there for signing, but we’ll sign stuff you bring with you, as well. For those who have asked, the answer is that we do not charge for autographs. It should be a jam-packed five days, I think.

What’s that? Was there an “Ask Dayton” question this week? Well, funny you should bring that up:

Dearest Dayton,

I was following G and T members on Twitter and saw a discussion of spoilers. What do you think is a good length of time to freely discuss full content for: 1) books, 2) TV shows, 3) movies and 4) comics?

Also, do you have rules you follow regarding reading industry websites, news and social media to avoid the spoilers?

Oh, here’s a question that’s not going to generate any sort of first-world butt-hurt. Not at all.

There’s never going to be a consensus on a topic like this, because nobody involved is starting out from the same spot on the track. Not everybody gets to see a movie on opening night, or when a TV show first airs, or when a new comic drops at the shop. The people who do are either going to be considerate of those in their little circle who are “less fortunate,” or they’re not, and the criteria for what constitutes “considerate” shifts like Jell-O on a waterbed aboard a cruise ship in a hurricane.

(What? Fuck, I don’t know. Strawberry Jell-O, all right? Who gives a shit? FOCUS, people.)

So, when it comes to how long to wait, the old “best judgment,” “common sense,” and “try not to be a dick” axioms are the general rules I try to follow.

Personally, I try not to post spoilers for anything out in the open, unless we’re talking about something that’s been around for quite a while. I mean, you know Taylor was on Earth the entire time, right? Kristen Shepherd shot J.R., and Bruce Willis was dead for the whole movie? Harold and Kumar do make it to White Castle, and so on. When I wanted to talk about something on a message board where spoilers were a possibility, I either stuck to threads which were clearly “marked as ZOMG! CONTAINS SPOILERS!!!” or else I used whatever “spoiler code” function the board might utilize.

When it comes to news sites and other places where encountering spoilers is a possibility, I tend just to avoid those places if I’m trying not to be spoiled, but I don’t get too worked up if I run into or across something, because if I go to one of those sites, it’s my own dumbass fault, right? For example, with the most recent Star Trek movie, I didn’t read articles posted at sites like Trek Movie or StarTrek.com. Since I started writing Trek for Pocket, being spoiled on this or that Trek movie or episode is a basic hazard of the job, but for the new JJ-Trek movies, and since Pocket’s not presently doing any tie-ins to those films, I just wanted to go and watch Into Darkness like a regular fan. The only trailers I watched were the ones they showed on TV. I wasn’t actively avoiding spoilers, but neither was I going out of my way to gather information on the flick.

Then, two weeks before the movie opens in the U.S., somebody on Facebook who’s living in the U.K. just posts a one-line spoiler for the film’s biggest “twist.” To be honest, I wasn’t mad at that guy so much as I was at the people who made the decision to go with a staggered release schedule that guaranteed all the secrecy surrounding the film’s production was for shit.

Can I get a “Whoops” for that?

One thing I don’t get is the whole “live-spoiling” movies or TV shows while people are watching it during its first broadcast. If people are in a chat room or on some other private communications venue with their friends while all that’s going on, then more power to them. But just throwing out spoilers in real time to wide-open Twitter or Facebook? I don’t get the appeal. I can see the fun to be had in a “Tweet-along” for a favorite cult movie or something similar, but if I’m watching something for the first time? I’m not interested in shooting the shit with anyone while I’m trying to enjoy the story. I don’t want to talk to people I like during times like those, much less anyone scattered across the vast social media echo chamber. That goes double if we’re talking about a movie or TV show where there’s liable to be large amounts of wanton bloodshed and gratuitous nudity and sex. You interrupt me during Spartacus at your fucking peril, okay? I’ll be with you after I’m done watching. Until then? Just hold your fluids.

Yes, I’m aware that some people are going to take exception to my viewpoint, and trust me when I tell you that I’ve allotted at least seven or eight nanoseconds for being grief-stricken at their disappointment. I’m not calling for anyone to stop, or that they should be “prevented” from doing what they do. They’ll keep doing what they’re doing, and I’m just going to go on comparing them to a gaggle of twelve-year-old girls (or their mothers) standing around shrieking because Justin Bieber just took the stage after forgetting to zip up his fly.

Hey, don’t look at me like that. If the Crocs fit, wear ‘em.


This question and its answer was read during G&T Show Episode #104 on July 28th, 2013. You can hear Nick read the answers each week by listening live, or check out the replay/download options when the episode is loaded to their website: The Sunday G&T Show. Listeners are also encouraged to send in their own questions, one of which will be sent to me each week for a future episode.

And – as always – many thanks to Nick, Terry and Mike and the audience for continuing to include me in their reindeer games.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in ask dayton, fandom, friends, g&t show, nerdity. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ask Dayton #77 on the G&T Show: “Spoilers and the Spoilers Who Spoil Them.”

  1. Jim says:

    Spoilers are okay with me. If I happen to see or hear a spoiler about a movie, TV show, or book along the way, it isn’t going to stop me from seeing the film. As far as I am concerned, if a person reads a book or sees a television show or film that impresses them enough to want to talk about it, go for it.

    I completely agree with the live facebooking or tweeting during a show. Especially during a movie. For me, there is nothing more annoying than having some assbag in front of me with their phone out during a film. It is not only stupid, but is rude, and against the theater rules.

    Invariably, there is always some idiot in my vicinity in the theater that I attend who is facebooking or tweeting during a good scene in a film and then they have to turn to the person next to them and get a rundown on what they missed while playing with their device.

    The theater very politely asks us to silence our phones before a film begins. Perhaps it is time to be less polite and say something like “Don’t be a Dick, shut your friggin’ phone off. This means YOU, anusbanjo, or we’ll kick your sorry ass out of here!”

    Any way for me, spoilers on a film, 1 week, for a TV show, until the next episode, on a book, no limit. I have a spoiler warning at the top of my blog and will not hesitate to spoil the hell out of anything I write about. But we all know how that is. I haven’t gotten any complaints, yet.

    Like

  2. archersangel says:

    Then, two weeks before the movie opens in the U.S., somebody on Facebook who’s living in the U.K. just posts a one-line spoiler for the film’s biggest “twist.” To be honest, I wasn’t mad at that guy so much as I was at the people who made the decision to go with a staggered release schedule that guaranteed all the secrecy surrounding the film’s production was for shit.

    isn’t that what they do now? have a movie open on different days around the world? in this day & age, where people post about things as soon as they read/see them, that kind of thing needs to stop.

    Like

Lay it on me.

