The Hunt for From History’s Shadow begins!

We’re just over a week away from the “official” publication date for my new novel, From History’s Shadow. The date, July 30th, is more for the computers and ordering systems than anything else, as most mass-market paperbacks don’t have set release dates. Basically, they’re available whenever the bookseller gets their stock, enters it into the store’s inventory system, and shelves them. So, in reality, the book can start showing up anywhere any day now.

Therefore, I say, “Release the hounds!”

The first five people who can provide photographic evidence of the new book grazing in the wild (translation: on a store shelf, somewhere) by posting that pic here will receive an autographed copy.

All right, listen up, people: Our book has been on the run for a couple of days. Average foot speed over uneven ground barring injuries is pretty much zero since books have no legs. That gives us a search radius of the whole frappin’ planet, with the possible exception of Tampa, Florida, as my mother will already have swept up all available copies.

What I want out of each and every one of you is a hard target search of every bookstore, grocery store, drug store, Walmart, Target, and whatever other retail outlet you can think of in that area. Checkpoints go up at Facebook and Twitter. Your fugitive’s name is From History’s Shadow.

Go get it.

(Of course, if any of the successful spotters choose to buy the book they encounter — and yay for my royalty statement if you do — and don’t want a duplicate, then we’ll work out some other arrangement.)

Tally ho!

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, contests, friends, trek. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to The Hunt for From History’s Shadow begins!

  1. H.E. ELLIS says:

    Let me just say that your book cover is ten shades of awesome. I love the throw back to fifties SciFi.

    Yes, I will enjoy searching for your book in the wilds of New Hampshire. If VANGUARD made it to my podunk town, I don’t see why FROM HISTORY’S SHADOW wouldn’t.

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      I wish I could take credit for the cover, but my only involvement in its creation was a few vague suggestions about hopefully giving it a retro/pulpy look and something with MIBs or other “mystery men.” The result is way better than anything I was envisioning, and mostly because it’s simpler in execution than what I thought I wanted.

      I ain’t arguing. It looks swank.

      Happy hunting!

      Like

  2. liquidcross says:

    No dice at my local B&N just yet, but I’ll keep an eye out.

    Like

  3. Mike Winters says:

    Here is my copy of this new book.

    Like

  4. Books-A-Million. On the To Be Shelved cart.

    Like

  5. H.E. ELLIS says:

    Reblogged this on H.E. ELLIS and commented:
    CALLING ALL SCIFI FANS! Everyone’s favorite Trekkie Dayton Ward is set to release his latest novel, FROM HISTORY’S SHADOW any day now. For those of you who aren’t crying yourself to sleep in fit of literary jealousy (me) there is a prize to be won. What kind of prize, you ask? Well click on over to his blog, THE FOG OF WARD, to find out!

    Like

  6. Awesome… and clever… and other words as well…

    Like

  7. Pingback: From History’s Shadow signed copy giveaway: Dah Winnahs! | The Fog of Ward

  8. Pingback: Update: From History’s Shadow contest winners. | The Fog of Ward

  9. Pingback: FINAL UPDATE: From History’s Shadow contest winners. | The Fog of Ward

  10. Pingback: FINAL UPDATE: From History’s Shadow contest winners. | The Fog of Ward

Lay it on me.

