“Dayton Made Me Do This,” the SDCC 2013 Edition.

UPDATE FOR THOSE JOINING THE SHOW ALREADY IN PROGRESS: I’ve been collecting the photos submitted throughout the weekend, and posting them HERE!

Okay, those of you about to set forth into the madness that is San Diego Comic-Con 2013, I’ve got an assignment for you.

Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to venture into the bowels of the convention’s exhibitor hall, locate my friend and hetero life mate, Kevin Dilmore, and have a photo taken of the two of you, while displaying this sign:

“But, Dayton,” I can hear you asking, “where, oh where might I find the elusive Mr. Dilmore?”

Well, it’s like this: He works for Hallmark.

Go.

(Of course, please treat my boy right. He’ll likely be busting his ass for the Hallmark gang, as is his habit. Bring him some water or a pretzel dog or something.)

I’ve done this a couple of times before, targeting other friends of mine at different conventions where they’re liable to be a captive audience. The results have been varying degrees of entertaining, owing mostly to the creative efforts of those who took my basic request/challenge and modified it for their own enhanced amusement. For example:

Farpoint Convention, February 2011

New York Comic-Con, October 2010

Now, you’re obviously under no obligation, here. You don’t even need to use my sign fodder. Feel free to scribble your own variation. Whatever floats your boat. You’re also not confined only to seeking out Kevin. By all means, enlist the assistance of any willing souls you might encounter throughout the weekend–celebrities, other fans, cosplayers, whatever. If they’re up for playing, I say the more the merrier.

Post your pics here, or shoot them to me via Twitter and/or Facebook and I’ll see that they get collected. Once it’s all said and done (and assuming I get any traction with this), we may have to do a contest with some giveaways.

And since we’re here, let’s not forget the related effort that’s still underway: “Where’s My Book? The 2013 Edition!

Any questions? Hit me in the comments. Should you or any member of your team be captured or killed, the Flying Spaghetti Monster will disavow all knowledge of your actions.

Go forth, my friends. Go, and get your nerd on.

Pics, or it didn’t happen.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in comic-con, contests, dayton made me do this, friends, pics, stupid shit. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Dayton Made Me Do This,” the SDCC 2013 Edition.

  1. Pingback: “Outside of Town,” a Kickstarter film project with my bud, Kevin Dilmore. | The Fog of Ward

  2. Pingback: “Dayton Made Me Do This” @SDCC…UPDATE! | The Fog of Ward

  3. Pingback: Salt Lake Comic Con 2013 | Go Gator 1's Grins & Gripes

Lay it on me.

