The thing after the thing I’m working on now.

Howdy, folks. Update time!

Since Trek-related news sites like TrekMovie.com and The Trek Collective have started posting info, I guess I’m free to announce that my next “big” project will in fact be another Star Trek novel for Pocket Books. I will be joining four friends and fellow word-pushers as we bring forth The Fall, a series of five linked novels which will close out the last quarter of the 2013 calendar year and bleed a bit into 2014.

The batting order for this series is:

Revelation and Dust by David R. George III, “starring” members of the Star Trek: Deep Space Nine cast (September)

The Crimson Shadow by Una McCormack, focusing on Picard and Garak (October)

A Ceremony of Losses by David Mack (November)

The Poisoned Chalice by James Swallow, focusing on Riker and the crew of the U.S.S. Titan (December)

Peaceable Kingdoms, by me, “starring” Picard and the Enterprise-E (January 2014)

NOTE: Titles and other various tidbits are subject to change. Indeed, my title at this point is just a placeholder, and likely will change, because I needed to give them something for the purposes of completing contract work, payments, and other administrative detritus.

It’s also worth noting that unlike the previous Star Trek: Typhon Pact mini-series which utilized this basic notion of multiple authors and casts, the books this time around won’t be so locked in to a single crew. Expect more in the way of team-ups/collaborative action from across the various groups of characters. I’m also aware that I haven’t given you any info on Mr. Mack’s contribution to this effort, for the simple reason that he has not yet done so, and I don’t want to be the one stealing his thunder. 🙂

I’m in the process of finalizing my outline, which is due to my editor on January 17th. Of course, I’m also finishing up From History’s Shadow. In addition to that, I’ve been writing pulpy Sci-Fi goodness for another project, so you can just imagine how freaky my dreams are these days.

Beyond that? I’ve already had preliminary conversations about what might be coming after this project. Things are very much in flux at the moment on that front, however, so I don’t expect I’ll be sharing much info on that subject in the immediate future. But, as you can see, Pocket seems determined to keep me busy for a while yet.

Now, if you’ll excuse me…I have an assload of work to do.

(With thanks to TrekMovie.com and The Trek Collective.)

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in friends, The Fall, trek, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The thing after the thing I’m working on now.

  1. Soriedem says:

    SQUEE — Uh … I mean that’s cool man. I might check them out. :: JUMPS UP AND DOWN EXCITEDLY ::

    Like

  2. QInHom ghItlhwI’ wa’DIch jIH! {I am the first commenter!}

    Yeah, I know, I’m going to Internet Gre’thor…

    Like

  3. First you get an omnibus published with Christopher Bennett and Greg Cox, and now another group of “big kids” lets you play in the sandbox? WTF are these people thinking?! Do they not read the bacon and ball gag bits of this blog?!

    Seriously, congrats and good luck with the projects.

    Like

  4. H.E. ELLIS says:

    Good God, man! When do you sleep?

    Like

  5. I’ve been remiss to comment here for a while due to various reasons, so I apologize. But I saw this and wanted to extend congratulations! Looking forward to this series and your book, as always. Take care.

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      Not talking “Brave and the Bold” style team-ups of whole crews or anything like that, but definitely a liberal peppering of characters from different series here and there. For example, you can expect to see at least one character from two other series playing roles in my story, along with the same use of certain “not specific to any one series” characters which has become the norm in recent years.

      Like

  6. Dale Taylor says:

    Great line up of stories in that series, can’t wait to read em. Any TOS stories from your way? I like them all but I have a soft spot for Kirk & crew.

    Like

  7. Pingback: ACTUALIZACIÓN PARA STAR TREK: THE FALL « CUADERNO DE BITACORA

  8. Pingback: Ask Dayton #58 on the G&T Show: “Pickup Nicks.” | The Fog of Ward

  9. Pingback: G & T Show - G & T Show Book Reports: February 2013 – Novel Edition

  10. Pingback: First look at Star Trek: The Fall, courtesy of StarTrek.com | The Fog of Ward

  11. Pingback: G & T Show Book Reports: February 2013 - Novel Edition - G & T Show

Lay it on me.

