“Hell hath no fury like the uninvolved.”

I forget where I first saw that quote (I want to say it was something writer J. Steven York said, though he may have borrowed it from someone else), but I’ve loved it since the first time I read it.

And, wow, is it appropriate.

I’m currently engaged in a message board discussion with some guy who’s fervently against the notion of including homosexual characters in Star Trek fiction. He doesn’t have anything against gays, you understand; he just feels they’re “not appropriate,” and doesn’t want them in the Star Trek books he reads.

Oh, but wait…he doesn’t actually read the books. According to him, he’s read (and I’m paraphrasing): “1 or 2…fifteen years ago.”

He doesn’t read the books, but he’s hip deep in the conversations about what should and should not be allowed in them.

I’ll never understand the need for people to be so up in arms about crap which has zero impact on their lives. And while I don’t want to draw any conclusions about this particular poster, I’m willing to bet real money that he hails from a specific political/ideological bent…you know, one of the groups that makes it a top priority to stick their noses into everyone else’s business, rather than just getting on with their own frikkin’ lives and allowing others to do the same.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in blog, rants. Bookmark the permalink.

Lay it on me.

