April writing wrap-up.

April? Where?

Oh, there it is…in my rear-view mirror.

With one weekend consumed by the annual Starfest convention, and another devoted to an informal gathering of writer-type friends here in KC, I still managed to accomplish a few writing-like things. For example:

“Absent Friends” – A short story I originally wrote for a local small-press magazine way back in 2004. I decided earlier this year to add some new material and expand the story. I ended up doubling the thing’s length, and I was just starting to figure out where I might send it when something else came along, and I decided this story might make a good fit. You can read about that right here. The story was published to the contributor’s list on April 3rd. Once the fundraising effort is officially over, I may make it available for reading here.

In Tempest’s Wake – A “coda” of sorts for the Star Trek: Vanguard novel series, which recently was given its grand finale in the form of the kick-ass book Storming Heaven by series co-creator David Mack. Though I admit I was reluctant at first to take on such a project, I was able to work with my editor to develop an idea I thought might work, told primarily from the points of view of non-Vanguard characters. I delivered the manuscript to my editor on April 30th, and received a request for some minor tweaking just today. I’ll have that back to my editor in a day or so, and then I’ll wait for copyedits.

Tie-in novel: Based on an e-Mail update from an editor back in early March, I’m supposed to be figuring out a story idea, to be followed by writing an outline. As they’re expecting it sometime around June 4th, I suppose I should probably get on that.

“The Enterprise Job” – a revised draft is done! I sent it to beta readers and got feedback! I’ve even commissioned and paid for cover art! Now that I’m done with the novella, I’m turning some brain cells toward getting this made available via one or more e-Book publishing venues. Stay tuned!

The Social Media Minefield: Watch Your Step” – My latest monthly column for the Novel Spaces blog, which was posted on April 16th. This time around, I blabber about the fun and dangers to be found with Twitter, Facebook, blogs, and so on. Tread softly, yo.

Other stuff in the pipeline:

Essay for Bob Greenberger’s Star Trek: The Complete Unauthorized History – Friend Bob asked me to contribute a piece highlighting Star Trek fans who, due to one reason or another, have found a way to contribute professionally to some aspect of the franchise. How could I say no? The piece will be one of many sidebars Bob is including in the book, which is scheduled for publication in October 2012. I sent my contribution to him back in November, and the latest reports tell me that the book is currently in the editing/formatting phase, and publication remains on schedule. W00t!

Kid’s story book – The idea behind this is to create one of those illustrated books for very young kids (like, say…my 5 and 4-year old). I have an artist in mind, particularly since it was work he did for similar books which inspired me to do this in the first place. I have a completed manuscript, and at the moment we’re waiting on him to get some time in his schedule so we can talk about it. There also are a few other obstacles to navigate before I can approach the appropriate parties about possible publication. For now, this remains a “passion project.”

“And Then One Night…All Hell Broke Loose” – My contribution to a series of “special stories” set in the universe of HG World, the kick-ass zombie apocalypse audio drama series which is the brainchild of Jay Smith (aka dr_p_venkman). Other installments are being written are authors Keith DeCandido (kradical), Terri Osborne (terri_osborne), and Elizabeth Donald (reannon). The script remains in pre-production limbo as the crew works on other episodes of the show, so stay tuned for exciting updates!

Also, I’ve continued to answer the call of friends Nick Minecci and Terry Lynn Shull, they off the weekly Sunday G&T Show, responding to queries submitted to them via their show’s “Ask Dayton” feature. What can I say? I’m a glutton for punishment.

Possible future projects:

Steampunk short story: I was invited to submit a story to be considered for a forthcoming steampunk anthology due out in the fall. I’ve never written anything in this genre, so the challenge intrigues me. I’ve got plenty of time, but the more I think about this the more intrigued I get, so this may well be the next thing I work on.

Vampire short story: I know, I know…I said I’d never do one of these, but something crossed my radar screen and I find myself feeling jazzed about taking a shot at submitting something. I have no frappin’ idea what to do just yet, but the idea as presented just grabbed me, so I guess we’ll see….

Shared-world story – I was approached earlier in February about perhaps contributing something to an author-created “shared-world” series. At this point, our discussions have been very, very preliminary, and I’m still wrapping my head around the series concept and the possibilities it presents. I already have a notion for a story, but it naturally needs refinement to fit the series’ framework. I’m not even sure yet whether we’re talking novel-length, or something shorter. Stay tuned for any updates on this front.

And that was my April. How was yours?

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word slinger, husband, dad, Trekkie, Tampa Bay Bucs fan, Rush fan (the band), observer and derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in writing, writing wrap-up. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to April writing wrap-up.

  1. liquidcross says:

    Awesome! Really looking forward to In Tempest’s Wake. (Still gotta read Distant Early Warning, though.)

    I hear The Enterprise Job is good, too. But I bet The Enterprise Job II is even better.

  2. G. B. Miller says:

    Compared to you, my April was positively flat. The only thing of noted accomplishment was approving the book cover to my upcoming novel (can currently be found on my blog). The only noted non-accomplishment was not finishing a trunk novel (very long story behind this) so that I could tackle a two year old longish short story that I have high hopes for.

    • Dayton Ward says:

      Want to offer a teaser about the trunk novel? :)

      • G. B. Miller says:

        I would, if I could remember what the hell it was about. It originally was about a man deliverying a backpack, but it swerved very badly after the first ten pages because I had the novel idea of expanding it, and the further along I went, the stranger it got. As it is, I keep rethinking the ending as I approach the ending.

Lay it on me.

