My 2011.

As 2011 winds down in this part of the world, I have to say that the year–all in all–has been pretty gosh-darned good to me.

First off, my wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary this year. Our oldest daughter turned 5 (going on 10), and our youngest turned 3 (wanting to be 5). Everyone’s healthy and happy, so I have everything I could ask for on that front.

Writing-wise, I was able to accomplish quite a bit despite the demands of a full-time job, family, and so on:

  • My Star Trek: Typhon Pact novel Paths of Disharmony was published in January, and even won itself an award as voted on by fans. Go figure.
  • Almost Tomorrow, my Star Trek: Vanguard novella, was published as part of the Declassified anthology in July. With this book–itself a brainchild of David and myself–I, along with Kevin, David Mack and Marco Palmieri, got to give Vanguard fans a little treat before we started the process of wrapping up the series.
  • Speaking of that, Kevin and I collaborated on our final novel for the Vanguard series, What Judgments Come, which was published in October, setting the stage for the Pure Hell David Mack will unleash next spring with the closing installment Storming Heaven.
  • Back in July, my original short story “Going My Own Way” was published in Gods of Justice, a superhero-themed anthology from Kevin Hosey and K. Stoddard Hayes at Cliffhanger Books.
  • Another of my stories, “Stop-Loss,” was reprinted in the e-Book anthology Zombiefied, edited by Carol Hightshoe for Sky Warrior Books.

Work continued apace for Star Trek Magazine. Between the two of us, Kevin and I had ten articles published in various issues during 2011, including one of my two all-time favorite pieces since first being hired to write for the magazine in 2006. No mention of the magazine would be complete without offering another round of thanks to editor Paul Simpson, with whom it was an absolute blast to work. Unfortunately, Paul’s tenure on the magazine has ended, but I wish him well with his new projects and hope to work again with him soon.

I somehow managed to stay busy around the web, too. The first quarter of the year saw me and David Mack finish up our tenure writing the weekly Star Trek Re-Watch reviews for Tor.com. Elsewhere, I started a monthly rotation as one of several contributors to the Novel Spaces writing blog. I also managed a few guest turns over at StarTrek.com, with an irregularly-recurring series I decided to call “Ten for Ward.” As if that wasn’t enough, I took on another bit strictly for the fun of it, as friends Nick Minecci and Terry Lynn Shull decided to make me an unofficial, recurring part of their weekly Sunday G & T Show podcast. The result of that wacky idea is the show’s “Ask Dayton” segment.

(Consider yourself warned about those.)

As for this place? I tried to keep things fun and interesting around here. I’d like to continue doing that, so any suggestions folks might have for that are welcome.

Thanks to everyone who played a part in my 2011, be you family, friend, and/or reader/fan. I couldn’t have done it without you. From where I sit looking over the fence at it, 2012 appears as though it will be a year of transition in various ways. Some things will be ending, but I’m hoping to balance them out with some new beginnings. Stay tuned.

Happy new year, yo!

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word slinger, husband, dad, Trekkie, Tampa Bay Bucs fan, Rush fan (the band), observer and derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in blog, life, ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My 2011.

  1. H.E. ELLIS says:

    Seems to me your blog is working, so why mess with it? I’m fan regardless. Have a safe and happy new year!

    • Dayton Ward says:

      I’m open to new ideas, if nothing else. Aside from commenting about my writing, my blog’s already all over the place, so there’s likely always room for something different :)

      Happy New Year to you, too!

Lay it on me.

