May writing wrap-up.


Everybody wave to May in the rear-view mirror.

It was one of those “slow but steady” months, with most of my writing time spent on the “big projects” currently in the hopper, as well as taking care of a few other items and laying some groundwork for stuff I’ll be working on in June and July.

So, with that in mind, here’s the rundown of the month’s activities:


Star Trek original series novel for 2012 – Kevin and I received approval of our outline from our editor and CBS Licensing on April 28th, and I started writing my portion(s) on schedule on May 1st. I’ve been hitting my daily quota pretty much every day, with only a couple of slip-ups along the way which were easily recovered. Hitting the daily mark allowed me to pay attention to a few other things, as well. Our manuscript is currently slated to be delivered on August 1st. And away we go!

What Judgments ComeStar Trek: Vanguard – We received the first-pass pages on May 27th, and we have until June 10th to deliver our changes/fixes/etc. The manuscript itself was approved by our editor and CBS Licensing with no changes requested. The book’s still slated for an October release, so be sure to pre-order lots of copies for the coming holiday shopping season!

“Going My Own Way” – A story I sold to Cliffhanger Books for their forthcoming superhero-themed anthology Gods of Justice. I sent my revised draft of the story back to the editor on May 5th, and received word on May 18th that it was good to go. At last report, the publisher was working to ensure I’d have copies with me for the Shore Leave convention in July. Sweet!

Star Trek blog for Tor.com – The site held a “Star Trek movie marathon” the week of May 2nd, showcasing the films with the original cast. I supplied a blog post that was posted on May 2nd and paid a revisit to Star Trek: The Motion Picture. Be sure to check out the rest of the posts for that week, including pieces supplied by David Mack (infinitydog) and Keith DeCandido (kradical).

Guest blog for Novel Spaces – Over the holidays, I along with other past “guest bloggers” to Novel Spaces received an invitation to contribute something to the site in 2011. Last year, I wrote a piece about collaboration, and got some nice e-Mail feedback about it. I sent the site’s editor my new piece — in which I ruminate on how writers might respond to reviews without having a public meltdown — just today, in fact. At last report, it was slated to be posted to the site on June 15th. Stay tuned here for updates.

Other stuff in the pipeline:

Almost Tomorrow – One of four novellas for the Star Trek: Vanguard – Declassified anthology, which will present stories in and around the existing and ever-evolving Star Trek: Vanguard storylines. The tales will cover events from before the first book, Harbinger, to after the most recent book, Precipice, and will explore aspects of the series which until now have only been hinted at as well as setting up a plot thread or two for the next books in the pipeline. I returned my corrections to the first-pass pages on March 17th. The next time I see it will be as part of the actual book, which is still slated for a late June 2011 publication.

Articles for Star Trek Magazine Issue 35 – Kevin and I contributed what we think is a very sweet feature piece for this issue. I haven’t had this much fun with an article since doing the “Captain Proton” pieces for issue #16 way back in early 2009. We turned that in on March 25th. Preliminary versions of the layout have been AWESOME. I can’t wait to see the final version. I also provided a standalone piece, this one a tribute to Richard C. Datin, Jr., which I turned in on March 30th. Somewhere in all of that, I also sent editor Paul Simpson a draft of the script for the fourth part of the “Trek Life” arc.

Article for Star Trek Magazine #36 – I contributed a solo piece (Kevin did, as well) which will kick off a theme of articles included in each of the next several issues throughout the rest of the year in celebration of Star Trek‘s 45th anniversary. I turned in my article on April 21st. Also slated for issue 36 will be the fifth installment of the “Trek Life” arc, which Editor Paul and I are currently scheming.

“And Then One Night…All Hell Broke Loose” – My contribution to a series of “special stories” set in the universe of HG World, the kick-ass zombie apocalypse audio drama series which is the brainchild of Jay Smith (aka dr_p_venkman). Other installments are being written are authors Keith DeCandido (kradical), Terri Osborne (terri_osborne), and Elizabeth Donald (reannon). I returned a tweaked version of the script to Jay on November 3rd, and now I wait to see how it gets cast with voice actors, and to hear it come to life (or, “undeath,” if you prefer)!

Science fiction short story – On April 14th I received an invitation to submit a story to a new anthology. The due date is July 29th, which is right when we’ll likely be putting the finishing touches to the new novel. I haven’t decided yet if I want to add this to my plate. The good news is that I have a story idea which would A) work for this anthology, and B) allow me to revisit a setting I created for a story I wrote a couple of years ago, and want to explore again.

Science fiction/horror short story – I was made aware of an open call for submissions to Weird War. The anthology’s premise really grabs me, but it’s due date for story submissions is July 31st, putting it in the same bucket as the previous story. I think I’ve got an idea which will work for this market, though, so I’m thinking I want to give it a shot, just cuz.

Science fiction short story – for the open call anthology A Quiet Shelter There, to be edited by Gerri Leen (gerrileen) for Hadley Rille Books. As happens from time to time, an idea that I think fits this anthology’s theme happened across my brain pan the other day. I’m actually very jazzed about this particular notion. The deadline for submissions is August 31st, so I have time to juggle some of the other stuff around and still make room for this.

Other things in various forms of gestation include the next installments of the “Trek Life” storyline, this year’s Halloween story, as well as a story which would pay tribute to Gene Roddenberry in honor of what would’ve been his 90th birthday this year. I suppose I might dust off “The Enterprise Job” at some point, but who am I kidding? There are a couple of other things in the “Idea Section” of my big white board, and one or two others in various stages of very early discussion. Whether anything comes of those remains anybody’s guess.

Yeah, I think that should do it for this go-round.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word slinger, husband, dad, Trekkie, Tampa Bay Bucs fan, Rush fan (the band), observer and derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in blog, writing, writing wrap-up. Bookmark the permalink.

Lay it on me.

